West Virginia state laws impose penalties for DUI based on a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08 percent for adults and a zero tolerance policy for minors under twenty-one. The implied consent ruling applies in the state and allows law enforcement to arrest anyone under suspicion of DUI. If you were arrested, you should contact DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV today to represent you.
Penalties Under Zero Tolerance Ruling
Under this ruling, minors under the age of 21 have only two chances. If they are convicted of a first offense, they receive a fine of at least $25 and a maximum of $100 and license suspension for no less than thirty days. If they receive a second conviction, they will receive a fine between $100 and $500. The second conviction also incurs a license revocation until he or she turns eighteen. The minimum for this revocation period is sixty days. If your minor is facing these charges, you should hire DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV without delay.
DUI Penalties for Adults
A first-offense DUI charge incurs a maximum of six months in country lockup. Fines range between $100 and $500. The driver incurs a license suspension of no less than forty-five days. Adult drivers who are facing a DUI charge should hire DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV to assist them with an acquittal.
A second-offense DUI in which drugs or alcohol were involved incurs between six months and one year in county lock up. Fines are between $1,000 and $3,000 with a one-year license suspension.
A third-offense DUI incurs a jail sentence between one and three years. The fines are between $3,000 and $5,000. The license suspension period is one year.
Drivers in West Virginia should understand how implied consent works. Under this law, the officer must have probable cause to pull them over. This implies that he or she should have found a legal reason for the traffic stop such as, reckless driving or speeding. Suspicion of DUI implies that there was an obvious impairment at the time the driver was stopped. If the arresting officer didn’t have probable cause, you should contact DWI Attorneys in Charles Town WV to evaluate your rights.