Driving under the influence in New Jersey is a serious offence punishable by a raft of measures including fines, fees and surcharges as well as prison terms, community service, ignition interlock devices and Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). In some cases, the law might prescribe license suspension for repeat offenders. Just like is the case in other states, a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test is the only scientific way of determining DUI in NJ. A simple breathalyzer test is enough to determine your BAC.
NJ DUI laws consider anyone with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more operating a boat or a motor vehicle to be driving under the influence. DUI is a serious offence and you should make every effort to avoid the same. However, a conviction under NJ DUI laws should not ruin your life. Getting in touch with an experienced lawyer right away should be the first step when faced with DUI charges in NJ. This is very important as it may mean the difference between facing the full force of the law, getting the charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Go for an experienced and hard-hitting DUI lawyer who has the legal expertise to handle any form of DUI laws. His firm can save you thousands of dollars in insurance penalties and fine with a successful defense.
A skilled DUI lawyer in NJ should be able to work with professionals of DUI field testing methods and question their methods of analysis based on an individual case. They should also be in a position to carry out evaluation and research on the available evidence as presented by the prosecution. NJ DUI laws allow for the cross-examination of the arresting police officers by a skilled lawyer especially with regard to your violation of the same.
In NJ, prosecution can attempt to nail a driver with DUI laws charges based on a sobriety test carried out in the field and previous driving patterns. This is why it is important to hire a skilled attorney with the right expertise to punch hole in the prosecution’s case by finding inconsistencies and using them to your advantage. This can ultimately result in the reduction or dismissal of DUI charges.
Drivers below the age of 21 should not drive with a BAC of 0.01 percent or greater. Violation of this will constitute a DUI in NJ and offenders will be liable for a 30 to 90-day license suspension and a 15 to 30-day community service. As such, minors facing these charges in New Jersey should get in touch with an experienced DUI lawyer to review their DWI case.