Massachusetts drunk driving laws are some of the strictest in the country. If you are convicted of drunk driving Raynham laws say that your license will be suspended. The length of the suspension depends on the number of DUI convictions you have on your record. In addition to getting your license suspended, you may have to spend time in jail, though there is no minimum jail sentence for a first DUI offense. Expect to pay a fine as well. Fines for first DUI offenses can be as much as $5,000 while the fine for a fifth lifetime DUI offense in Massachusetts can be up to $50,000.
Because a DUI will remain on your record for life, it is important to hire a lawyer as soon as you are arrested. The sooner your lawyer gets your case, the sooner they can start to attempt to discredit the state’s evidence against you or work on getting the prosecuting attorney to reduce your charges to reckless driving. It is virtually impossible to get your charges reduced without an attorney.
Your attorney will attend all of your court hearing with you and will work on your defense outside of court. Expect your lawyer to treat your case like you are their only client even if they are very busy. The major difference between a public defender and a privately obtained lawyer is the amount of time they have to help win your case. Public defenders are very busy and may not be able to give your case the attention it deserves. The potential consequences of a DUI conviction are too serious to rely on anything less than the best lawyer.
If you, your friend or family member have recently been arrested for drunk driving Raynham attorneys are available to fight for you. Whether you are able to get a plea bargain or you take your case to trial, your lawyer will be there by your side, defending you against the state’s evidence and possibly offering new evidence that can pose reasonable doubt.