In Idaho, all drivers who have a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.20 percent are charged with an enhanced DWI. The charge imposes penalties that are much greater than the standard DWI charge. These penalties are imposed due to a higher risk of injuries and fatalities. A DWI Attorney in Twin Falls ID provides a legal defense for defendants facing these charges.
The First Offense
The first offense is classified as a misdemeanor offense. The minimum jail sentence for the charge is ten days. The maximum sentence is one year. The fines for the offense range up to $2,000. The license suspense of one year begins when the defendant is released from custody.
The Second Offense
The second offense is classified as a felony offense. The minimum sentence for the charge is one month in the county lockup. The maximum penalty for the offense is five years in a state prison. The fines for the offense range up to $5,000. The license suspension can range up to five years. All drivers convicted of this charge receive no less than a one-year license suspension. An ignition interlocking device is required for these defendants at their own expense.
Aggravated DWI Charges
The aggravated DWI charge is classified as a felony. It is imposed when the drunk driver caused an accident that produced bodily harm. The state has the right to add extra enhancements to the standard enhanced DWI offense. It is also designated whenever a child under the age of fourteen is present in the vehicle.
Why are Ignition Interlocking Devices Required?
The ignition interlocking device is a measure taken by the state to prevent drivers from driving while intoxicated. It requires the driver to complete a breathalyzer test before the automobile starts.
In Idaho, all drivers who have an excessive blood-alcohol content reading are charged with an enhanced offense. These enhancements can also apply after an accident or based on occupants inside the driver’s vehicle. If a fatality occurs, the charges can be increased to vehicular homicide. Drivers facing the charge who need to hire a DWI Attorney in Twin Falls ID can click here for more information.